Home | Shows | Mveliso Tapi claims the big one at 2017 IFBB SA Champs
Buffalo City's Mveliso Tapi beat out a host of top contenders to take the Overall Men Bodybuilding title at the 2017 IFBB South African National Championships.

Mveliso Tapi claims the big one at 2017 IFBB SA Champs

For Mveliso Tapi it was a case of finally claiming the big one as he secured the Men’s Bodybuilding Overall title after winning the Lightweight division.

The cream of the crop of local bodybuilding came out in full force to compete at the IFBB South African National Championships held at The Ridge Casino in Witbank, Mpumalanga over this past weekend.

The SA’s, the highlight of the local bodybuilding calendar, boasted 435 athletes with some fierce competition from all involved. Two bodybuilders in the Junior ranks who impressed the most were Matthew Robinson (Gauteng Central) and Gareth Scheepers (Nelson Mandela Bay) with Masters Lionel Martins (Nelson Mandela Bay), Carlos Nunes (Gauteng Ekurhuleni) and KZN veteran Jabulani Buthelezi leaving no stone unturned in their seemingly never-ending quest for muscular perfection.

Pride and passion

Beach Bikini athletes Anesca Gouws and Leiere Falck dominated their respective line-ups with excellent shape and balance. Joe Manjoo, winner in the Classic Bodybuilding section, displayed superior shape and sharpness as he represented KZN with pride and passion.

Some of the athletes who emerged as champions in their respective divisions were Andrew Raath (Gauteng Central), Gerhard Nel (Mpumalanga), Sibusiso Kotelo (KZN), Regina Jonga (Gauteng North) and Chanel Erwee (Gauteng North).

Buffalo City’s Mveliso Tapi came from nowhere and stole the show at the 11th hour with everyone expecting Albert le Roux from Central Gauteng taking the honours after a stellar showing in the Men’s Middleweight U/85kg category earlier in the night. Tapi beat out a host of top contenders to take the title. The team for the various IFBB World Championships will now be selected to fly the South African flag abroad.


Juniors U/18 yrs

  1. Matthew Robinson (Gauteng Central)
  2. Peace Tsotetsi (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  3. Reece Moutsatsos (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)

Juniors U/23 U/75kg

  1. Mabhelandile Mapapu (Buffalo City)
  2. Mandisi Majova (OR Tambo)
  3. Jean Rasman (KZN)

Juniors U/23 O/75kg

  1. Gareth Scheepers (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Lendo Greyling (Gauteng North)
  3. Lusindiso Danster (Buffalo City)

Masters O/40 U/75kg

  1. Lionel Martins (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Terrence Pillay (KZN)
  3. John Johnstone (Gauteng North)

Masters O/40 O/75kg

  1. Carlos Nunes (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  2. Curtis Howells (Gauteng Central)
  3. Armand Fourie (Gauteng North)

Veterans O/50

  1. Jabulani Buthelezi (KZN)
  2. Pat Petela (Sedibeng)
  3. Dumisani Jali (KZN)

Ladies Beach Bikini U/1.63m

  1. Anesca Gouws (Gauteng Central)
  2. Maxine Booysen (KZN)
  3. Ralie Kapp (Gauteng North)

Ladies Beach Bikini O/1.63m

  1. Leiere Falck (Western Province)
  2. Nathanya van Zyl (Gauteng North)
  3. Juanette Groenewald (Gauteng North)

Ladies Junior Fitness Bikini

  1. Chanel Erwee (Gauteng North)
  2. Jamie-Lee Glazer (KZN)
  3. Savannah-Jay Prenzler (Western Province)

Men’s Athletic Physique U/1.74m

  1. Siyanda Sibango (Western Province)
  2. Ivanilson Abilio (Gauteng North)
  3. Landu Mtyia (Buffalo City)

Men’s Athletic Physique U/1.78m

  1. Hazem Malaka (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  2. David Tshose (North West)
  3. Tiaan van Graan (Gauteng Central)

Men’s Athletic Physique O/1.78m

  1. Devonshire Pillay (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Ryan Leach (KZN)
  3. Francois Chapman (Gauteng North)

Men’s Muscular Physique

  1. Roger de Kramer (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  2. Matthew Albrecht (Gauteng West Rand)
  3. Kyle Gary Pietersen (Western Province)

Classic Bodybuilding U/1.75m

  1. Keshav Saikoolal (KZN)
  2. Naiem Ally (KZN)
  3. Isa Abashe (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)

Classic Bodybuilding O/1.75m

  1. Joe Manjoo (KZN)
  2. Ari Nikolopoulos (KZN)
  3. Ziyaad Martin (Western Province)

Ladies Physique

  1. Regina Jonga (Gauteng North)
  2. Kayise Cece Mbambo (KZN)
  3. Tiana Flex (Gauteng North)

Mixed Couples

  1. Rudie Fourie and Monique van Emmenis (Sedibeng)
  2. Garron and Candice Whitehead (Gauteng North)
  3. Barry and Liesl Austin (KZN)

Men’s Fitness

  1. Peter Lekoma (North West)

Women’s Wellness Fitness

  1. Angela Howden (KZN)
  2. Victoria Sethabela (Sedibeng)
  3. Odette Janse van Rensburg (Gauteng Central)

Ladies Fitness Bikini up to 1.60m

  1. Rachel Brun (KZN)
  2. Desiree Maple (KZN)
  3. Jade Warman (KZN)

Ladies Fitness Bikini up to 1.63m

  1. Nicolene Booysen (Western Province)
  2. Micaela Markides (Gauteng North)
  3. Zelmarie Fourie (Gauteng North)

Ladies Fitness Bikini up to 1.66m

  1. Shelby Neves (Gauteng Central)
  2. Claudette Renney (Gauteng Central)
  3. Tshiamiso Maila (North West)

Ladies Fitness Bikini up to 1.72m

  1. Carmen Botha (Mpumalanga)
  2. Irina Nesterova (Gauteng North)
  3. Cindy Royle (KZN)

Ladies Fitness Bikini over 1.72m

  1. Stephany Delatour (Gauteng West Rand)
  2. Marizelle du Plessis (Sedibeng)
  3. Nonhlanhla Linda (KZN)

Fitness Bikini O 35 yrs

  1. Karien van der Wall (Mpumalanga)
  2. Firdous Asmodien (Western Province)
  3. Sonette Zelie (Mpumalanga)

Ladies Fitness Bikini up to 1.63m

  1. Karen de Beer (KZN)
  2. Marelize Stander (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  3. Caryn Tyler (Gauteng North)

Ladies Body Fitness up to 1.68m

  1. Carine Kloenne (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  2. Lieze Gie (Western Province)
  3. Nicola Murphy (Western Province)

Ladies Body Fitness over 1.68m

  1. Erika Marais (Western Province)
  2. Sam Martingano (Gauteng West Rand)
  3. Nomzobo Cuba (Gauteng North)

Men’s Bantamweight U 65kg

  1. Vuyo Vanda (OR Tambo)
  2. Sinato Soci (Buffalo City)
  3. Mthobeli Mbuthuma (OR Tambo)

Men’s Lightweight U 70kg

  1. Mveliso Tapi (Buffalo City)
  2. Steve Nako (Buffalo City)
  3. Achmat Richards (Western Province)

Men’s Welterweight U 75kg

  1. Simon Mwelase (Mpumalanga)
  2. Mandla Msongelwa (KZN)
  3. Tinotanda Mafuto (Nelson Mandela Bay)

Men’s Light Middleweight U 80kg

  1. Glenn Molobela Potego (Mpumalanga)
  2. Marc Krom (Gauteng Central)
  3. Alastair Hyatt (Western Province)

Men’s Middleweight U 85kg

  1. Albert le Roux (Gauteng Central)
  2. Juan Gierz (Western Province)
  3. Sandile Sibiya (KZN)

Men’s Light Heavyweight U 90kg

  1. Andrew Raath (Gauteng Central)
  2. Manny Jardine (North West)
  3. Dylan Kapp (Gauteng Central)

Men’s Heavyweight U 100kg

  1. Gerhard Nel (Mpumalanga)
  2. Tristan van Aarde (Nelson Mandela Bay)
  3. Clint Frank Horsley (Sedibeng)

Men’s Super Heavyweight O 100kg

  1. Sibusiso Kotelo (KZN)
  2. John Leslie (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)
  3. Koketso Makakase (North West)

Overall Beach Bikini

  1. Anesca Gouws (Gauteng Central)

Overall Men’s Athletic Physique

  1. Hazem Malaka (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)

Overall Masters

  1. Carlos Nunes (Gauteng Ekurhuleni)

Overall Classic Bodybuilding

  1. Joe Manjoo (KZN)

Classic Bodybuilding Best Poser

  1. Naiem Ally (KZN)

Overall Fitness Bikini

  1. Chanel Erwee (Gauteng North)

Overall Body Fitness

  1. Carine Kloenne (Nelson Mandela Bay)

Overall Men Bodybuilding

  1. Mveliso Tapi (Buffalo City)

Best Poser

  1. Aphelele Ngoma (KZN)

Check Also

Juandre wins big at PCA Western Province champs

A rock hard Juandre Nel walked away with the honours at the first ever Physical ...

Claire wins Diva Extravaganza

A dazzling Claire Schrikker-Bowles was crowned the Overall winner of the Ms. Diva Extravaganza hosted ...

New Classic Physique not to replace Classic Bodybuilding

It should be noted that the IFBB’s new Classic Physique category will not replace the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar