Home | Shows | Show Reports | High standard set at Bloem Classic
Suzaan du Plessis and Dewayne van Jaarsveld show off their exceptional physiques.

High standard set at Bloem Classic

Athletes travelled to the City of Roses in the Free State on Saturday, 28 April 2018 to vie for top spots at the Bloem Classic, an annual contest hosted under the auspices of the National Amateur Body Builders’ Association (NABBA) and the World Fitness Federation (WFF).

The Men’s Novice category was fiercely contested by winner Dewayne van Jaarsveld, Wimpie Botha (2nd) and Dewald van Aswegen (3rd). The Junior U/23 yrs class also belonged to an absolutely shredded Dewayne who could pose a serious threat to fellow competitors at future shows if he maintains his supreme conditioning. Some of the other contestants who impressed the judging panel at the Bloem Classic with the high standard of their physiques were San-Mari van Rensburg (Beach Model), Suzaan du Plessis (Athletic Figure), Clive Brent (Sports Model) and Thomas Antonio (Extreme Bodybuilding). Well done to all the competitors!

Show organiser Hende-Mari Strydom would like to thank all the fans, sponsors, NABBA/WFF officials and the Bloem Show for the opportunity to host the event and for giving local athletes a platform to display all their hard work.


Men’s Novice

1. Dewayne van Jaarsveld

2. Wimpie Botha

3. Dewald van Aswegen

Juniors 23 yrs and under

1. Dewayne van Jaarsveld

2. Thabo Khasipe

3. Jan-Louis du Plessis

Beach Model

1. San-Mari van Rensburg

2. Zurita Borghesi

3. Marlize van der Wath

Men’s Masters over 50 yrs

1. Martin van der Wath

2. Sebastiaan Rothmann

3. Calvyn Fortuin

Men’s Bermuda Model

1.Isaac Mbatha

2.Kabelo Khatoane

3.Blayne Abrahams

Ladies Miss Athletic Figure

1.Suzaan du Plessis

2.Alida van der Wath

Men’s Sports Model

1.Clive Brent

2.Themba Bikane

3.Lehlohonlo Motlatsi

Ladies Sports Model

1.Chantelle van Zyl

2.Emely Thembe


1.Suzaan du Plessis & Dewald van Aswegen

2.Alida van der Wath & Martin van der Wath

3.Emely Themba & Kayalabo Nguda

Men’s Extreme Bodybuilding

1.Thomas Antonio

2.Brandon de Sousa

3.Jan-Hendrik Janse van Vuuren

Overall winners

Ladies Bikini – San-Mari van Rensburg

Men’s Model – Clive Brent

Ladies Figure – Suzaan du Plessis

Men’s Extreme Bodybuilding – Thomas Antonio

Check Also

Juandre wins big at PCA Western Province champs

A rock hard Juandre Nel walked away with the honours at the first ever Physical ...

Claire wins Diva Extravaganza

A dazzling Claire Schrikker-Bowles was crowned the Overall winner of the Ms. Diva Extravaganza hosted ...

New Classic Physique not to replace Classic Bodybuilding

It should be noted that the IFBB’s new Classic Physique category will not replace the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar