Home | Shows | A snapshot of the 2015 IFBB SA Champs

A snapshot of the 2015 IFBB SA Champs

This week we look at the IFBB SA National Championships held at the Sandton Convention Centre in 2015.

A test run for the ACA

Not only did the contest highlight the cream of the crop in the bodybuilding community but it also served as the ideal test run for the organisers ahead of the following year’s inaugural Arnold Classic Africa. The weekend was divided into prejudging and two main shows in order to accommodate the 400 athletes and simulate the format needed for the much anticipated ACA.

One of the stars of the weekend was Junior bodybuilder Lendo Greyling who brought fantastic overall symmetry and conditioning to the stage. Another competitor who was worthy of standing in the winner’s circle was veteran Japie van Wyk who took his class as well as the Masters Overall title.

Ultimate glory

The 2015 SA’s also saw Morne van den Berg taking gold in the Men Lightweight 70kg category. Van den Berg made notable improvements in his chest, arms and deltoids after placing third in the Senior Men under 80kg line-up at the H&H Classic in the run-up to the national event.

Johan Boshoff stepped up his game, snatching the Men Light Heavyweight title from under the noses of rivals Nkululeko Cele (2nd) and Carlos Nunes (3rd).

Johnny Lucas battled his way to the ultimate glory in the Men’s Middleweight under 85kg division with Shanti Mitchell grabbing a win in the Super-heavyweights.

Despite newcomer Lucas challenging hard, the weekend belonged to a streamlined and tight Louis Bessinger who bagged the Overall title after taking the Men’s Middle Heavyweight division.

Other notable athletes were the Men’s Welterweight U/75kg winner Julian Ramdhari, Classic Bodybuilding Overall conquerer Justin Thacker, Marcelle Collison (Ladies Body Fitness O/1.68m), Leana Viviers (Ladies Beach Bikini O/1.63m) and Ladies Physique Overall champion Tiana Flex.

This year the IFBB SA’s will take place from 1 to 3 September 2017 at The Ridge Casino in Witbank, Mpumalanga. Check out www.ifbbsa.co.za for more details.

Check Also

Juandre wins big at PCA Western Province champs

A rock hard Juandre Nel walked away with the honours at the first ever Physical ...

Claire wins Diva Extravaganza

A dazzling Claire Schrikker-Bowles was crowned the Overall winner of the Ms. Diva Extravaganza hosted ...

New Classic Physique not to replace Classic Bodybuilding

It should be noted that the IFBB’s new Classic Physique category will not replace the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar